The winners list at the Mbokodo Awards reads like the ultimate who’s who of creative South African women.

“The awards are a huge applause for women. It celebrates the incredible things they do to advance our heritage,” said executive producer Carol Bouwer on SABC news.

The awards, which were handed out on 11 September, are held to “celebrate and acknowledge women who have not only articulated the aspirations of the South African people but have also fortified their democracy by empowering communities and individuals through their art”, reads the official awards website.

The 20 awards categories, falling under the arts, culture, and heritage umbrella, are judged through a peer review mechanism.

The winners in each category were:

Women in Indigenous Arts: Helen Sebidi
Promotion of Language and Story Telling: Nise Malange
Creative Writing: Lauren Beukes
Poetry: Mbali Vilakazi
Creative Photography: Lindeka Qampi
Visual Arts: Berni Searle
Architecture: Nadia Tromp
Creative Design: Thandiwe Tshabalala
Fashion Design and Innovation: Hangwani Nengovhela
Dance: Dada Masilo
Opera: Goitsemang Lehobye
Theatre: Maralin Vanrenen
Comedy: Irit Noble
Women in Film: Ryley Grunenwald
Women in Jazz: Thandi Ntuli
Music: Zolani Mahola
Promotion of Arts in the Media: Brenda Sisane
Arts Ambassador: Yvonne Chaka Chaka
Arts Ambassador: Marianne Fassler
Lifetime Achievement Award: Thandi Klaasen and Dr Thembeka Nkamba van Wyk